My journey so far…

I’ve been practicing self massage for years so I’ve always been a firm believer in the healing benefits of massage. Nonetheless, to be completely honest, when I first started studying massage at ACFB, I had my reservations. It felt rather ‘intimate’ and frankly a little uncomfortable in the first few weeks, with every class consisting of frequent massage work on fellow students. I observed as the lecturers moved from student to student, at ease, without discrimination of sex, judgement, or inhibition of the human body. As an introvert; it kind of amazed me, and I wondered how I would make it through – could I do this as a career? I thought. It all seemed a little too personal. However, in the short time I’ve been at ACFB, I’ve come to view the human body for what it is: the outer shell encapsulating something much deeper. An individual shell, with one mind, one heart, one soul within. The rest means nothing.

Over the passed week, I’ve also had the pleasure of being able to practice my ‘massage’ and ‘palpating skills’ on the NSW Opens Men’s Netball team. This was a fantastic experience for me and I really enjoyed the atmosphere (I even took my girls who are keen netball enthusiasts to watch a game!). The guys and managers were great and it also gave me an insight into what it would be like to work with athletes as a future remedial massage therapist; definitely something I’m interested in pursuing.

K x

image

 


Leave a comment